Failed auto-refresh should not cancel the refresh schedule
Currently if auto-refresh fails, the refresh schedule is disabled meaning IT has to go in and re-enable the schedule for each data connection after any ill-timed service outage. Sadly, the schedule is also disabled silently so unless IT checks in on the dashboard they have no way of knowing refresh is turned off.
As mentioned before, we’ll still disable refresh if we notice that refresh fails consistently, but this time we’ll send you an email to inform you why we turned off refresh.
No email received when scheduled is automatically disabled.
No emails received before the refresh is disabled.
No emails received so far for stopping the schedule. And don't understand why you need to disable the schedule.
Why disable the schedule? We had an outage with our gateway and then all of our schedules were disabled. Plus, why can't a workspace admin go in and simply enable the schedule? Also, why can't we specify someone other than the workspace owner to receive the emails when a refresh fails.
Therese Devine commented
NO emails are being sent if a refresh is automatically disabled due to a connectivity issue. We had a network issue last week, 1st time in over a year and all of our scheduled refreshes were automatically turned off, these are not reports disabled due to inactivity but reports with refreshes running every hour. IT has no way to support this, it is urgent to know that these refreshes are DOWN. They actually should NOT be automatically turned off but picked back up when the server is available.
The email would help.
It would really be great if we could specify a number of missed refreshes before it disables.
I have a plant which sometimes has a power failure for a couple days and have to remember to go reset each scheduled refresh when fixed.
Jeanne Jones commented
Need to keep refresh turned on after failed attempts. Server Maintenance causes failures that will resolve in a couple hours.
can we please have an option to not turn it off
Mike Kostuch commented
No, you shouldn't turn it off. You should notify but do not cancel it.
Can we please specify a custom email address to send this notification to, not just "send email to me". While I may have built and published a report, once in production the failures need to go to our helpdesk email address for tracking purposes.
I haven't been receiving emails that it has been turning off
how far out is this?
Jeffrey Tinnea commented
Sweet! Thanks for the update, Mini.