How can we improve Power BI?

Power BI desktop - sign in with personal MS account issue

I'm having trouble signing in using a personal MS account, where the account name/email is also associated with a corporate MS account.

I have an MS account set up that uses my work email address, and I have an MSDN subscription that is associated with that account. That subscription gives me access to Azure, where I have data (in Data Lake) that I want to query.
Recently, my company started using Office 365 and my email address is now also associated with an organisation style MS account.
In Power BI Desktop I want to sign in using my personal MS account, so that I can access my Azure data, but when I try to sign, after entering my email address, I get taken to the company branded password entry page, and it doesn't accept my personal account password.
Consequently, I can't get to my Azure data from within Power BI Desktop.

Please can you update the sign in process to ask which style of account I want to sign in as? (In the same way that signing in to Azure portal does.)

4 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Paul shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

1 comment

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Tim commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I have Office 365 Home and a Microsoft account. This same Microsoft account is linked to Azure where I am trying to test Power BI in the cloud

Why can I not connect it up, given that I would have been paying Azure subscription fees.

I have two purposes - I want to test run cloud analytics for myself as I'm always exploring new technologies but I also cannot make a business case to my company that we should look at this when I cannot show what I have done and demonstrate that it would be beneficial.

Feedback and Knowledge Base

Ready to get started?